Promotion and a whole lot more to celebrate at Great Melton

‘Great Melton CC's Clubman’ Award winners, Matt and Maxine Rushton and Nick Mackenzie with vice-pres

‘Great Melton CC's Clubman’ Award winners, Matt and Maxine Rushton and Nick Mackenzie with vice-president Malcolm Scarlett. Picture: Steve Phoenix - Credit: Archant

With the first team's promotion to Division Two of the Norfolk Alliance confirmed there was plenty to celebrate for the record attendance of 96 players and guests at Great Melton's presentation dinner at Bawburgh Golf Club.

Chairman Steve Phoenix congratulated Olly Harris and his team but pointed out that the mere fact that Melton are able to field four teams every Saturday and 16 teams in all is cause enough for celebration.

He also highlighted the Under-11s' success in carrying off three trophies — the Terry Moore, South Norfolk Community League and South Norfolk Carnival Cup, whilst winning all 18 games — before announcing that the new nets would be installed this autumn.

Richard Waddell, who took 26 wickets, a record since the nine-over restriction on bowlers was introduced, received the first team player of the year shield from vice-president Grenville Ireland while the other stand-out player was batsman Sam Mann whose 473 runs at an average of 47 for both A and first teams won him the A team player of the year trophy and the Aldous Special Award which he shared with Joey Greenslade for a new club record partnership of 249.

The B, C and Sunday awards went to Eusha Fawad, Clive Rennie and Ben Mann respectively. The Ladies'/Girls' player of the year was Rachael Hustler while the young (U17) player award went to Kai Wilkinson-Loines who topped 500 runs for the season.

Nick Mackenzie was voted clubman of the year for his work on the tour, beer festival and six-a-side while Matt and Maxine Rushton received the Aldous volunteer of the year shield from another vice-president, Malcolm Scarlett, for their work with the U11s, the B Team and their innovative way of using new technology. Marcus Mawby, who has coached both the U11s and the girls as well as helping out at matches and other events, won the Barnard Cup awarded to the young volunteer of the Year.

Leo deSalis, who is now the club's all-time leading wicket-taker with 700 victims, received a tankard for having made 500 appearances while Steve Clarke (300) and Ryan Hayward (200) also received awards. With some officers standing down, Melton will be looking for additional volunteers at the annual meeting on November 22 (7.30pm).