Praise for ‘five-star race’

Wymondham AC's Midsummer 10-mile race

GAVIN Davis and Helen Decker won both the men's and women's race in style making it a double celebration for the duo competing for Ipswich Jaffa.

Davis crossed the line in 56:23 minutes having led most of the way around the scenic course. Decker was not far behind, finishing third overall and first women in a time of 58:20. At the finish both agreed they had thoroughly enjoyed the race and the course, stating it has great 'personal best' potential.

In second, and not far behind the leader, was Daniel Middleton from Norwich Road Runners (56:58) and Stephen Pettit from Ely Runners in third place in a time of (58:41).

In the women's race, placings were more spread out across the field with Nicky Alford from City of Norwich AC securing second place in a time of 65:24 and Karen Archibold coming in third place for Lowestoft Road Runners (67:54).

With good conditions for running at this time of year with some cloud and a light breeze a record number of runners took part in the race. Good support from both local clubs and from those further afield boosted entries to 214 in total.

Norwich Road Runners were out in force, scooping three out of the four team prizes – the senior ladies, veteran ladies and the senior men's teams all went home with some trophies.

Most Read

Great Yarmouth Road Runners picked up the men's veterans team prize with some good performances.

Richard Pilch, who took part, praised the race afterwards: 'Well done to all concerned, another great 10-mile race. Good weather, great course and friendly marshals and water stations. Excellent teas and buns afterwards, a five-star race.'

A WAC spokesman said: 'A big thank you to all members who helped on the day, without this help races would be difficult to organise. Thanks must also go to the following organisations: St John Ambulance, Wymondham Town Council, Wymondham Ex-Servicemen's Club, Mucky Races for their chip timing services, Mick Powell (race referee) and Pilch Sports.'

Results: 1 Gavin Davis 56:23.5 (Jaffa RC), 2 Daniel Middleton 56:58.6 (NRR), 3 Helen Decker 58:20.5 (Jaffa RC), 4 Stephen Pettit 58:41.8 (Ely Runners), 5 Chris Merrylees 59:09.4 (NNBR), 6 Marlow John 59:42.9 (Ely Runners), 7 Mark Garrett 1-01:09.2 (Norwich Road Runners), 8 Paul Muffett 1-01:14.0 (North Norfolk Beach Runners), 9 Stuart Smith 1-01:24.8 (Norwich Road Runners), 10 Colin Robilliard 1-01:40.0 (Coltishall Jaguars), 11 Adam Craske 1-02:11.0 (Bungay Black Dog RC), 12 John Walshaw 1-02:36.6 (City of Norwich AC), 13 John Leversedge 1-03:08.1 (Enfield & Haringey AC), 14 Phil Quantrill 1-03:26.8 (GYRR), 15 Andrew Manning 1-03:51.9 (Gt Yarmouth Road Runners), 16 Mark Betts 1-04:26.3 (NRR), 17 Jaap Flikweert 1-04:27.7 (PACTRAC), 18 Dave Solomon 1-04:58.8 (Felixstowe Road Runners), 19 Andrew Mulligan 1-05:02.6 (Coltishall Jaguars), 20 John Moore 1-05:20.7 (Norfolk Gazelles).