Alliance cricket champs in spotlight

CRICKET: Swardeston were named club of the year for the second successive season at the recent Frankly Digital Norfolk Alliance presentation night.

It was the latest accolade for Swardeston in a memorable year, which saw them crowned national Cockspur Club Twenty20 champions at the Rose Bowl last month.

Their second team finished third in Alliance Division One, and although the third team were relegated from Division Two, the fourth XI – Swardeston CEYMS – emerged as champions of Division Six.

Swardeston-CEYMS Under-11s also won the Alliance's Terry Moore Trophy and Will Findlay, who took five for five in the final, including a hat-trick, picked up the cup.

Downham made their annual trip to the awards night to collect the Premier Division trophy for the fourth year running – an Alliance record.

The Mid Norfolk Sunday League also held their awards night recently and Swardeston were again to the fore, picking up the Premier Division Shield.

Most Read

Frankly Digital Norfolk Alliance roll of honour

Premier Division: Downham Town

Division One: Sprowston

Division Two: Mattishall

Division Three: Hethersett & Tas Valley

Division Four: Great Melton

Division Five: Cromer A

Division Six: Swardeston-CEYMS

John Dewing U9 Trophy: Vauxhall Mallards

Terry Moore U11 Trophy: Swardeston-CEYMS

Allan Bridgewater U13 Trophy: Fakenham

Andy Seeley U15 Trophy: Lowestoft

David Gooderham Batting Award: Tim Courridge (Diss A)

David Crowe Bowling Award: Addam Todd (Downham Town)

Doug Mattocks Wicketkeeping Award: Neil Burrage (Dereham)